Pastoral System for 2017

By Ms Adele Quinn | Posted: Friday December 9, 2016

Bringing together the best of two systems!

Presently we have a Pastoral and Dean system that is House based. Having had this system for three years we have sought feedback from Year 11 – 13 students to gather their thoughts on this system. These students have been exposed to House Deans and Year level Deans over their time at Geraldine High School. Here is a comment from a Year 13 student that reflects the majority of the comments we got back from the three year levels:

“I believe that the year level deans worked better as I felt I could talk to them more easily and that due to them having a smaller group to look after they had a better connection with the students. The house deans work well with bringing the houses together. Could be good to have both and the house deans look over the whole house while the year level deans just look over that one year group.”

So based on feedback from students, and after consultation within our pastoral team, we are going to tweek our system slightly in order to have the best of both worlds! We will remain with the same overall setup, however each Dean will be allocated a year level or two AND they will coordinate a House.

Some changes in our team members

At this time I would like to thank Eve Meyer and Rebecca Thomson for their work in the pastoral system over a number of years. We have two new members who have replaced them. We welcome Maria Heitkonig and Kieran Blogg to the team. I would also like to congratulate Eliza Williams on becoming our Pastoral Dean who oversees the Deans as a group.

How will it work for parents/ caregivers?

For a parent/ caregiver our system remains as it has been. If you have concerns about your child, want to have a chat to someone about support for your child, or have some good news to share with us about them, the contacts are:

  • Vertical Form Teacher and/ or Homeroom teacher
  • Dean (you will contact the year level Dean as set out below):

Eliza Williams - Pastoral and Year 12/13 Dean

E-mail: [email protected]

Maria Heitkonig - Acland - Year 11

E-mail: [email protected]

Bronwyn Clarke -Tripp - Year 10

E-mail: [email protected]

Kieran Blogg - MacDonald - Year 9

E-mail: [email protected]

Kit Silcock - Cox - Year 7 and 8

E-mail: [email protected]

Our team also consists of:

Mark Hayward – Guidance Counsellor/ Careers

E-mail: [email protected]

Anne Rawson –Social Worker

E-mail: a.raws[email protected]

Adele Quinn – Assistant Principal

E-mail: [email protected]